A New Spin – Deco Blue

Here is a Drunkard’s Path block that I didn’t mess with too much, well I guess i did, just a bit.

DecoBlue-Full

This is my quilt Deco Blue.   I didn’t alter the traditional Drunkard’s Path block – what I did do is add a cornerstone and sashing to two sides of a block and then upsized the background frame piece on the second. The quilt uses fabrics from Michael Miller Fabrics Cotton Couture Collection.

To cut my block components I like to use commercial templates -and my preferred Drunkard’s Path templates are by Marti Michell. I used the Large Template set to create this quilt and all the quilts in the book.  The book also provides graphics so  you can make your own templates from template plastic.

IMG_3894

I like this style because they are easy to cut around and are easy to use when I play around with the size or shape of a block!

This quilt reminded me of all things Art Deco – so I wanted to do quilting reflected that style.  Lines and simple arcs and arches created with longarm rulers allowed me to create this look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

The book gives you two other color options to consider, and I hope those will also help get your creative juices flowing to come up with your own color combination.  So what would your color combination be for this quilt? How would you have quilted this quilt?

11182_frontcover

 

 

Coming this August from

C&T Publications!

Check out some of the other quilts in the book and how the book came to be!

Bowties

Shaken Not Stirred

What would happen if….?

5 thoughts on “A New Spin – Deco Blue

  1. Pingback: A New Spin – Tile Floor & Peacock Alley | Big Rig Quilting, LLC

  2. Pingback: A New Spin – Millstones | Big Rig Quilting, LLC

  3. Pingback: A New Spin – Beach Balls | Big Rig Quilting, LLC

  4. Pingback: A New Spin – Checkerboard and Abstract | Big Rig Quilting, LLC

  5. Pingback: A New Spin – Test Pattern | Big Rig Quilting, LLC

Leave a Reply

