Decisions, Decisions, Decisions……

Well the boxes are all packed – I hope I can find everything on the other end.

The movers arrive tomorrow to pick-up everything and then many decisions need to be made.  I have a great open space that I am going to turn into my sewing/quilting studio.

But there are a lot of choices that I need to make

  • Where to I put the longarm
  • What wall would be best for all of my storage cabinets
  • What kind of a cutting table should I build (BIG I HOPE!)
  • Where does the design wall go
  • Do I have my computer and “office” in the same place as my sewing area
  • What kind of lighting do I put in  (the lighting needs to be seriously upgraded in the site)
  • But the first bit question is – what color should I paint the studio. Right now it is a nice creamy darkish tan – it make the room fee cozy, but not great for working with fabrics and seeing colors.
First of all – it is in the basement (the basement has been nicknamed the “QC” (Quilting Cave)
But the room is nice and big and there is some natural light
/
So the big question of the day is – what color????
  • pure white
  • a shade of grey – if grey what shade
  • a light beige
  • a light taupe
So – if you could pick any color – what color would you choose and why?
10 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions, Decisions……

  1. I honestly wouldn't pick White. To me it is too stark and reminder of bland apartment living even though it has been a while since I've done that. When I painted my studio recently I chose Behr's Vanilla Custard. It is the palest Yellow that almost looks White at times and I love it. The other option I considered is Benjamin Moore's Linen White. It is the best creamy White I've ever seen and I had it in my rooms in my former house. Good luck choosing.

    Like

  2. I always go with white for my studio space. I have 3 big windows but the room is so full od stuff that I need every bit of white to get as much light as possible in the space.

    Like

  3. White is the best choice. I too have a QC with large egress windows down one entire side of my studio and the only color that works is white.Then lots and lots of lighting…no shadows. I too thought my natural light would be a plus but discovered it was not enough. As you make this a real working QC, you will find you will make many changes before it works for you. I can't wait to see how you create your space.

    Like

  4. My studio walls are green. Wait-my whole house is green-I guess I just like green! I'd go with an antique white if I could re-paint and then cover it with beautiful bright quilts! Love your beautiful big space!

    Like

  5. My walls are light beige but I have much more natural light and a white ceiling. My design wall is a mottled gray flannel at right angle to sewing machine. Makes it easy to pull sections down, sew and return to wall to keep design consistent.
    Jaye

    Like

  6. I say pick several whites or ivories that you like and then paint the 3×3 swatch on the wall and observe all the different whites in all the different lights you will have. You just can't say one color. I have a different color on the south end of the house than the north end. Its amazing what a difference lights make. Also, google long arm lighting because I saw a really great blog from a lady whose husband made her overhead lights and she posted instructions. I'm sure you'll be able to find it. My quilt studio is still the same carribean soft blue/green is was when it was the bedroom. I'm in no position to paint right now, but when I do, it will probably be a soft white .Best wishes in your new home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

