Big Rig in Print – Fons & Porter Easy Quilts

I have a quilt featured in the recent (Spring 2012) issue of Easy Quilts from Fons & Porter, entitled Card Tricks. 

It features the fabric line Ascot from Windham Fabrics.

I designed the quilt using the EQ7 software. I think the “virtual quilt” presented a very accurate rendition of what the actual quilt would look.

Finished Quilt
EQ7 Design

Here are some pictures which show how it was quilted on my HQ 16 using Aurifil 40 wt thread.  It features a great deal of ruler work and some free motion designs in the wide border.

In the narrow outer border I quilted a piano key design using the straight edge of the Mini-Scallop ruler from HQ.

The ruled lines were a great aid in ensuring even spacing of the piano keys

In the wider border I quilted a swirling pattern.

I was at a loss about what to quilt in the blocks and I had a nice chat with my friend Debby Brown and she suggested this pattern. I really like how it turned out.

This shot of the back of the quilt gives you an idea of the overall quilting.

4 thoughts on “Big Rig in Print – Fons & Porter Easy Quilts

Leave a Reply

