Design Wall Monday – McCall’s Challenge 3 – The Finals!

I have been working on my design for my McCall’s Challenge this past week.  My original quilt that I need to make my spin-off of was a log cabin quilt where the rows of the blocks were shifted. So, today my design wall is really my design book and a table with fabric.

So I need to re-invent this!  What I am planning on doing is creating some sort of a Medallion Style quilt where the log cabins will be in the various borders – and they might show up elsewhere.  This initial sketch has been re-worked and drawn over several times.

I was also playing with some border ideas – not sure which ones will make it into this quilt.

I took a trip to The Patchwork Co. in Windham, NY last Thursday to purchase fabric. (Click HERE to see a post about the trip and their great great store!) I wanted to go with some reproduction fabrics for this challenge. I had all of the Repros that Windham Fabric sells to choose from (yes this store carries them ALL!)

I finally settled on the Baltimore Album Collection by Mary Koval. Here is a luscious Fat Quarter Pack of all 39 fabrics in the line.

Here is the pack opened up.

Here is some of the yardage I purchased for the quilt – as you can see – if features my favorite neutral RED! I am going to order a bit more of some of the other colors in the line today.

Next Monday I will have some of the blocks sewn and up on the wall – if I don’t I am in trouble.
My time line is this.

Finish Designing the quilt by 12/8
Cut and sew the quilt starting 12/9
Have the top sewn by 12/18
Quilt the quilt the week of 12/19
Take the quilt with me when I visit my family the week of 12/27 and sew the binding on
Mail the quilt to McCall’s by December 30th – it needs to be there January 4 at the close of business.

YIKES – I might need to call in some of Santa’s elves to help me sew.

Head over to Judy’s Blog to see what everyone else is up to!

7 thoughts on “Design Wall Monday – McCall’s Challenge 3 – The Finals!

  1. That sounds like the timeline I gave myself for the 12 Days of Christmas that I just finished. I love your drawings, they remind me of mine (mine are far more rudimentary). I love the designing process and I love the completion. It's some of the inbetween parts that hare a hassle. Looking forward to seeing the process.

    Like

  2. Lots of great ideas on your paper! That quilt shop sounds like heaven. The fat quarers are really really beautiful. Good luck with your timeline–that's a full-focus bunch of work to do 🙂

    Like

  3. I am amazed by your drawings. I love your fabric choices and can't wait to see them all sewn together. I like the looks of your schedule. I think you will be just fine. Good luck, I'll be cheering you on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

