McCall’s Design Star – Big Rig on the Road



This past Thursday I took a trip up the Hudson River to Windham, NY. My partner Ray and I took the train to New Hamburg, NY and my friend and longarm teacher Debby Brown picked us up and then we picked up Debby’s good friend Kim and we hit the road to Windham, NY. Just outside of Windham we came across this great sight – quilts painted on the side of a barn. We took this as a good omen for the day!

Our destination in Windham was The Patchwork Co.

I went there because The Patchwork Co. specializes in reproduction fabrics. They have all of the repros from Windham Fabrics by Baum Textiles.  I wanted to use repros for the Final Quilt in the McCall’s Design Star Challenge

Here are a few shots of the bright spacious store.

Fran Goldstein (she runs the store with her husband Murray) was most helpful.

I hope you enjoy this video that Ray put together of my visit to the shop. The music is from Ray’s CD “The Crystal Spring”

It took a while to figure out what fabric to buy – but I endured and I not only bought the fabric I need – but finalized the design in the process! It was amazing – the fabric line helped me refine what I could do with a very vague sketch! Yes – I am sprawled out on top of the fabric line I am using! I owe a special thank you to Debby and Kim who continued to carry bolts of Fabric to Fran so that she could cut what I needed (Rest assured – both Kim and Debby also pumped money into the local economy!)

Here is the fabric I am using – this is a Fat Quarter pack that has all 39 fabrics in the line.

Here is the yardage I purchased for the quilt – as you can see it is heavy on my favorite neutral – RED!

Can any of you figure out what the fabric line is? Answer will be revealed on my Monday Design Wall post!

7 thoughts on “McCall’s Design Star – Big Rig on the Road

Leave a Reply

