McCalls Design Star- Challenge 2 – Inspirations

When I started to work on my design for Challenge # 2 in the McCall’s Design Star contest I had the idea of working with a single block for design purposes. I posted the process in an earlier post (CLICK HERE TO READ THAT POST).  Since I have finished the quilt I have been looking around at my surroundings and discovered there were many things in my every day life that might have crept out of my subconscious and onto paper.  I know that in the past I have thought about each of these “Gee, that would be a great idea for a quilt.” But I can honestly say that I didn’t have any of these images consciously in mind as I worked on the design – but look and see for yourself and tell me what you think!

Here is a mural that I pass by 2-3 times a week. It is in the Port Authority Bus Terminal in NYC

Here is a building that is about 6 blocks from my apartment – I pass by it several times a week

I have looked at these stained glass windows almost weekly for the past 4 years. They are in St. Paul the Apostle Church in NYC.

Here is what I see outside my kitchen window every day – several times a day.

Let this images meld in my brain and here is my Challenge 2 Quilt – what do you think.

Please consider casting a vote for this entry   – and leave a comment in the comment box at the bottom of the voting page – voting continues through Sunday Midnight – November 28. Thanks.

One thought on “McCalls Design Star- Challenge 2 – Inspirations

Leave a Reply

