McCall’s Design Star – The Voting Begins



Here is my entry for the McCall’s Quilting Next Design Star Contest.

I hope you will pop over to the McCall’s Website and vote for my quilt in their Next Design Star Contest. You can vote once a day. So, I hope you will take time to vote every day – or if not every day as often as you can. (Voting continues through October 5)While you are there – take a look at some of the other entries.

The challenge was as follows:

1.) Construct a quilt top using 2 “traditional” blocks. Use of multiple sizes of the same block is allowed, but no more than 2 blocks.

2.) The quilt top (including borders) must be at least 24″ square. It may be larger, but not smaller.

3.) Embellishment is allowed. Embroidery is considered embellishment.

4.) Continuous applique is allowed in the sashing and borders.

5.) Top may be pieced, appliqued, or mixed techniques.

The quilt started out with this initial sketch that I made on graph paper

I then went to the EQ (Electric Quilt Program) and drafted the quilt  so that I could play around with it a bit. I took copies of the quilt with me and doodled and scribbled as I rode the Subways in NYC

I eventually came up with this design….

… and then revised it again.

I liked the look of it with the addition of the black arc replacing one of the colored arcs. I think the other quilt would be great and might give it a try (maybe in some ’30s repros!) I had chosen these colors because they reflected a lot of material that I have in my stash. But one day I was in the City Quilter and I came across these Fat Quarter bundles of Mixmasters Fizz (Kaufman Fabrics) by Patrick Lose  and I said – yes these are the fabrics to use! (After all – why use the material we already own when we can just but more which will work better in our project!)

Stop by next Wednesday to have a look at a few designs  – totally different from this one –  that were rejected for the contest. But – they just might end being made into a quilt one of these days!

Now – a question for you – what name would you give this quilt????  Post your title below in the comment section.

6 thoughts on “McCall’s Design Star – The Voting Begins

  1. I understand the title “Gameboard.” But I also thought either “Pinwheel” or “Fireworks.” It reminds me of those little pinwheel firecracker things we would nail to a fence post and light. They would twirl around and spit out colorful sparks for about thirty seconds.

    Whatever it's called, it looks GREAT!

    Like

  2. Totally neat! When you said you doodled on it while riding the Subway I thought that may have inspired the colors-especially the black and white centers. How about “Riding the Subway” as the title? Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

